jolse, Serum

OST C 20 Original Pure Vitamin C20 Serum Review

This has been a much raved about product for a while, so I decided to give it a try myself. I found a good sale on Jolse.com and bought it for around US$ 14, you can find it yourself here. I was really excited for this trial, after reading the product’s claims and customer’s reviews I wanted to see if it was as good as people say.

The Serum claims to: 1. Exfoliate your skin
                                   2. Even out your skin tone
                                   3. Remove blackheads
                                   4. Control Pores
                                   5. Whiten and Tighten skin

I also read from reviews that it helped with acne and fine lines. While I don’t see the need for skin whitening, I could certainly benefit from anything that can control my acne, blackheads and massive pores so I thought it would be perfect for me.

Volume: 30ml
Ingredients: Water, Ascorbic Acid, Ethanol, Sodium Lactate, Butylene Glycol, Glucose, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rosa Davurica Bud Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Flower Extract, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil Sodium Hyaluronate, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Diethoxyethyl Succinate, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Xanthan, PEG-180, Gluconolactone, Beta-Glucan, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil,Zinc PCA, Panthenol, Niacinamide, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lecithin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ubiquinone, Diisopropyl Adipate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben

The bottle is dark to avoid oxidation and comes with a dropper to control the amount of serum
you use, and to keep it hygenic. You should avoid
touching the glass dropper directly onto your skin to avoid contaminating the serum in the bottle.

I stopped using all other serums for a week to see if there was any change to my skin. As the directions recommended, I applied after toner and warmed it up on my hands before I applied it directly onto my face.

The serum itself is a watery, clear yellowy liquid, that has a nice fresh and citrus-like scent. I started with 3 drops for my entire face, but i found it left my skin quite sticky, so I switched to 2. I found that while it did absorb onto my skin relatively quickly, it still left a dewy sheen over my face that lasted several hours if I didn’t apply makeup afterwards.

The Results

As you can see from the photo, it immediatly brightens up the skin and evens out skintone, helping to make you look more awake and give a healthy glow to skin. 
Acne and Pores
I’ve been using it for over a week, so far I have yet to see it help with my acne and pores, in fact without makeup they have started to be even more obvious, but that isn’t necessarily the serum’s fault. I have found that the serum does sting when applied to acne and patches of sensitive skin, at first it didn’t bother me too much, but after exfoliating especially it hurt so much it made my eyes water. 
Skintone
It works wonders for skintone. If it wasn’t for my acne I would be comfortable without foundation in public. My skintone has evened up so much just in these two weeks, there is less redness on my cheeks and nose during the day, and a few acne scars and dark spots have started fading.
Exfoliation
My skin certainly feels smoother and softer after using the serum, but the dry patches above my eyes are still rough and very obvious, I haven’t found anything yet that can fix that because of the sensitive nature of your eye area. 
Blackheads
To my surprise, after just the first use of the serum my blackheads began clearing up. On my chin especially, they are no longer as dark or raised as they used to be. They haven’t disappeared completely, but their numbers are bearable for now.

Conclusion

I can definitely see why this would be a holy grail product for some people, but for me it didn’t work wonders as I expected it to. Sure it is great, but it’s not perfect. For my skin, it is a good basic starter serum, but I will look elswhere for alternatives. For the price you can buy it for, I would say it is worth it, because it is relatively and does almost everything it claims to. Of course what works or doesn’t work on my skin will be completely different to what works on yours.
Pros
-Affordable Price
-Improves skin texture and evens out skintone
-Fades scars
-fights blackheads
Cons
-Sticky if you apply too much
-Stings on sensitive skin and acne
Would I buy it again?: Yeah, maybe. If my acne clears up then it would be a perfect serum for me, I love how it works on acne free skin, but unfortunately that isn’t my main concern right now.
Rating: 4/5




Thank you so much for reading my review. If you found this review helpful, don’t hesitate to leave a comment, I would love to hear your opinion on any products. Don’t forget to follow me on my social media accounts to see what I’m doing or planning for future posts 🙂 

Twitter: @MyLittleRosee
Instagram:  @rosee.yates


Leave a Reply

