jolse, kbeauty, moisturiser, reviews

[JOLSE] VPROVE Rhodiola Power Cream review

IMG_23723

This product is relatively new on the Kbeauty market, it arrived mid 2016 and immediately made an impact with skincare fanatics. I’d only heard about it a few months ago when I began eyeing up other VPROVE products as my skin has been very dry over the winter. Luckily, I was sent this cream by Jolse.com to test out and review for free. It is on sale currently for US$17.83 here if you want to try it out for yourself 🙂

VPROVE_Cream_Expert_Rhodiola_Power_Cream_35ml_1.jpg

The Claims: 

  1. protect your skin from cold wind and heat
  2. Protects skin stimulated by the temperature difference between indoors and outdoors.
  3. Give long lasting moisture to your skin
  4. Whitening and anti-wrinkle.

The recommended skin type is sensitive, dry to combination skin. I thought that this would be the perfect product for me because my skin reacts drastically to temperature, it’s always dry and sensitive during the winter, and itchy and oily during the summer. So whilst maybe it’s not for me during summer, it could definitely help in the colder months.

Ingredients: 

Water, Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Rhodiola Sacra Root Extract, Butylene Glycol, Propanediol,Niacinamide, Cyclopentasiloxane, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Glycereth-26, Sodium Chloride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Titanium Dioxide, Sorbitan Isostearate, Ozokerite, Aloe Barbensis Leaf Juice Powder, Panthenol, Dextrin Palmitate, Jojoba Esters, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Madecassoside, Allantoin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Disodium EDTA, Adenosine, Aluminum Hydroxide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Beta-Glucan, Prunus Mume Fruit Extract, Glycerin, Zinc Oxide, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Magnesium PCA, Sodium Lactate, Tocopherol, Copper Tripeptide-1, Serine, Sucrose, Urea, Glycine, Calcium Chloride, Potassium Hydroxide, Ornithine, Sea Salt, Alanine, Magnesium Chloride, Threonine, Histidine, Aspartic Acid, Valine, Proline, Dipotassium Phosphate, Lysine, Tyrosine, Leucine, Phenylalanine, Isoleucine, Glucosamine HCI, Magnesium Citrate, Asparagine, 1-Methylhydantoin-2-Imide, Glutamic Acid, Citrulline, Arginine, Uric Acid, Methionine, Tryptophan, Taurine, Glutamine, Cysteine, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

I was not sure how I felt about the ingredients list, whilst I was very impressed that there were so many moisturisers and emulsions in the cream, the amount of ingredients included scared me a little. The ingredients in Bold are rated 2-4 on the Comedogenic (Acne), Irritation and Safety scale. The scale runs from 1-9 so they are still relatively safe to use on skin, but there is a higher chance they could irritate sensitive skin. The ingredients in Italics are possible Acne or irritation triggers, so if you are acne prone it might be best to avoid these ingredients. You can find out more about the ingredients here to see if there is anything you should avoid.

Instructions:

Use as your cream at the end of skincare routine.                                                                       Take an appropriate amount and apply on face evenly.                                                           Softly tap to absorb.

IMG_23982.jpg IMG_23844

The Product:

First of all, I have to say I LOVE the packaging. It is simple, sleek and elegant. It does not look or feel cheap, yet it’s not too mediciny looking to put me off using it.

The first things I noticed were the texture and smell. The cream has a very light consistancy that is easy to apply to your face, it absorbs quickly with little to no residue. The scent is quite a strong floral fragrance that I really like, but if you are sensitive to fragrances you might want to avoid it. Honestly, I love the fragrance though, it’s very fresh and summery to me, and it does disappear after a few seconds after application.

I used this cream every morning and night for a week to see if there was any difference. In Ireland it is currently spring, so during the day it is very hot for me (I am sensitive to temperature so for other people it would feel different) and freezing at night. This change in temperature confuses my skin so before I used the cream my eyelids, chin and parts of my forehead were dry and irritated, but my T-zone was oily, making my whole face irritated and red. I can’t use most moisturisers during the day because they add to the oiliness of my T-zone.

The Results:

I was so impressed by this cream. After just one week my skin feels smoother and more moisurised without being oily. It was a perfect moisturiser for the morning as it absorbed very quickly and left my skin feeling soft and calm. My makeup didn’t rub off so much during the day with the lack of oil, and though my dry patches haven’t disappeared yet, they are not itchy or red anymore.

Temperature wise, I feel like my skin is going back to the normal self it is when I’m comfortably warm/cool.

Claims and results:

  1. Temperature: My face doesn’t feel as sensitive to temperature anymore, it is less irritated by cold winds and the hot sun.
  2. Protects skin from indoor/outdoor: In all honesty I’m not really sure what this means, I assume that it is the sudden change between comfortable-damaging temperatures. So I feel that it has done it’s job at that.
  3. Moisture: The moisturising effects are really good. It is moisturising but still easy to absorb, allowing for the cream to penetrate deep within the skin and leave long lasting effects.
  4. Whitening + Anti wrinkle: I don’t need my skin to be lighter, and I’m not at an age where I would benefit or see effects from an anti-wrinkle cream so I haven’t seen results for this claim. I’m not bothered by this though because they were the least wanted effects for me.

Would I buy this? Yes, probably. If my skin reacts to temperature the way it does right now I think I will need to buy it.

Rating: 4.5/5 For me it is amazing, but I had to rate it down because I know fragrance and some irritating ingredients could not be right for some people. Not all of their claims were met either, and whilst it doesn’t bother me, it could make a difference for someone else.

If you want to try out this cream you can find it here on Jolse.com, or you can visit the Korean VPROVE site here to find out more.

Thank you so much for reading, I would love to read your opinion of the cream or other products by this company 🙂 Have an amazing day xx

Rose

Leave a Reply

