COSRX, kbeauty, moisturiser, reviews

COSRX PHA Moisture Renewal Power Cream Review

IMG_24813

I have heard amazing things about COSRx and their products, so I was so excited when I received several samples of this cream. I managed to use it for a week to test the results.

If you’re into Korean skincare, COSRx is a MUST. I already have a few of their products that contain AHA and BHA, similar acids to PHA, and I loved them. I did find them a bit strong for my skin type, so I was reassured that the PHA cream would be perfect for sensitive and irritated skin.

10959_shop1_462622

PHA – “Polyhydroxy Acids (PHA) are a special type of AHA (Alpha Hydroxy Acid) that strengthen skins barrier function and help fight the signs of aging without irritation.”-neostrata.com

PHA is a brilliant chemical exfoliant, with 3% PHA and 50% coconut fruit extract, theoretically this cream is perfect.

Ingredients: 

Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Gluconolactone, Niacinamide, Betaine, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, 1,2-Hexanediol, BeesWax, Elaeis Guineensis(Palm) oil, Elaeis Guineensis(Palm) Kernel Oil, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Citric Acid, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin

Cosrx-PHA-Moisture-Renewal-Power-Cream-korean-cosmetic-skincare-malaysia-philippine-brunei3

Claims:

  • Helps your skin appear smooth, dewy and moisturised.
  • Healthy, glowing, youthful skin the next morning.
  • Intense Hydration and Gentle exfoliation
  • Reducing Redness
  • Brightening
  • Suitable for those with sensitive skin

 

Directions:

As a cream – Apply a moderate amount as needed to face twice a day, morning and night, avoiding the eye area.

As a sleeping Mask- As the last step in your nighttime routine, apply a thick layer to your face avoiding the eye area. Leave on for 10 minutes and rinse off. Or leave on overnight, rinsing off in the morning.

Luckily I had enough samples to try both methods during my testing week. As a cream I found that a little went a long way as the smooth, thick gel-like cream soon became watery when in contact with skin. It didn’t have a strong smell to it, and it absorbed quickly leaving no residue behind. I did feel like my skin was immediately smoothed and brightened. It worked really well on my dry patches, soothing the irritation around my eyes and lips from the cold winds that have set in here. However, due to my combination skin type a product will never work well on my the dry patches and t-zone, so unsurprisingly my forehead began to feel oily after a few hours. That is innevitable for me, so I wasn’t disappointed in the cream.

As a Sleeping mask I thought that it worked pretty well, it was difficult to apply a thick layer of cream because it absorbed straight away, and I didn’t want to waste product or make my skin oily. I woke up the first night after using it as a sleeping mask to a bright, clear face. My skin was surprisingly smoothed, but a bit oily as I had expected. I quickly washed it off and my skin was so smooth!

Even after it had absorbed with no residue, it did make my face pretty dewy, which makes it stick to it’s claim, but my skin doesn’t work well with dewiness. I felt that it exentuated the bumps and scars all over my skin, as well as making me look oily without the actual oil.

The Results: 

Pros:

  • Moisturises well
  • Smoothes out rough skin
  • Soothes irritation
  • no fragrance
  • Quick absorbtion

Cons:

  • Made my T-zone oily
  • Too dewy

 

Rating:4/5

Would I buy it? Probably, maybe not for summer, but I could see that it would definitely help my skin during the winter when the areas around my eyes and mouth get irritated.

 

Thank you for reading my review, I would love to hear what you think about this product, or other COSRX products.

Rose xx

Leave a Reply

